Legalshield Reviews

Show reviews that mention
legal shield shield money service attorney membership services case law firm
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Avoid at all cost!!

Have been a member with them for almost 20 years and never had to use their benefits.One of their 'benefits' is providing legal representation in case the member is sued.This 'benefit' has an exclusion for business related suits (if the member is involved in a business).I was sued by a former tenant of mine.I turned to Legal Shield for representation - this was the first time since I have been a member that I tried to use their 'benefits'.They denied me the representation stating that the fact that I rented out a unit is considered by them to be a business.I told them that it is not a business as I do not have a corporation/LLC/partnership/sole proprietorship but an investment activity but it did not help,they kept the denial.I ended up cancelling my membership with them.
View full review
1 comment
#2025394

I Truly Feel Your Dissatisfaction.

ID
#1745958 Review #1745958 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Legalshield Legal Service
Cons
  • Sevice and coverage
  • Fraud
  • Legal shield does not provide the service they sell
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Loss
$3000
Preferred solution
Monetary compensation

Want to cancel my membership

I have had LegalShield for well over a year. And I tried to get an attorney for a case of mine and it cost ME $280 just To talk to one and then his price was really not different from one outside LegalShield. Also I live in the mountains and to try and build business is literally impossible sometimes I have to drive to get service. So in short I have been paying LegalShield and getting nothing in return. I am not going to write a letter and send to home office I want my payments stopped ASAP. THANK YOU.

User's recommendation: Check it out very good before getting.

View full review
ID
#2683170 Review #2683170 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Carrollton, Texas
New Reviewer

Start as associate/business?

The person I spoke to used "legalshield terminology". I had to ask the same question multiple ways to get my question over to her, so she would/could answer it.
View full review
ID
#2646267 Review #2646267 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

The lies that was told to me how they could help me with affordable attorneys who work for me.

Update by user Jul 24, 2021

The company does care about consumers. The lawyer told me to take the issue to the small claims court. That is not what my member support

Update by user Jul 20, 2021

They are just out to get your money and they have no concerns about a person legal problems. They told me to go to small claim court on my own.

Original review posted by user Jun 17, 2021
Submitted cases to them on 3/8/2021 they did not answer or call until 4/8/2021. Then inform me that I only had 14 days to answer the motions. Because it 4/8/2021 it was too late for them to do anything.

User's recommendation: you paying out money for nothing.

View full review
2 comments
#2025396

I went through the same experience.

#2024713

So you had the paperwork, and know the deadline, why didn't you follow up.. Or go elsewhere?

View more comments (1)
ID
#2617302 Review #2617302 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Legalshield Legal Service
Cons
  • Legal shield is a scam company and they take advantage of people
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered
New Reviewer

Have asked to be called by an attorney it's been three months and no phone call back

I am being harassed by the front attendant who made threats amount on me last night did contact local PD, but the conditions of the living here are getting worse instead of better the front apartment had cockroaches they had to pay for the extermination themselves but never followed all the way through it the gentleman said that he was turning off his power had a breaker box outside I've never done anything of the sort I have asked for help he also smacked me with a 90 day vixen notice no cars just landlord wanted property in his possession possession possession

User's recommendation: Sometimes you have to keep calling them to get anything taken care of I am a customer.

View full review
ID
#2609886 Review #2609886 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Excellent service and they speak spanish
Cons
  • I want everyone to know this was in albuquerque new mexico
Loss
$240000
Preferred solution
An attorney to call me back ASAP would be awesome

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Lack of help they give you

submit a case on 3/8/21 for help Legalshield Firm did not reply back to me until 4/8/2021. An informed petitioner that she only had 14days to submit paperwork. it was over 30 days before said firm call me back (now and it ththtoo late to respond).
View full review
ID
#2558621 Review #2558621 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Legalshield Legal Service
Cons
  • This issue has been going on for over a year
  • Fraud
  • Never recommended
Loss
$1668
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Theft and fraud

Legalshield for months after I canceled continued to charge my card . I had to have my credit card canceled altogether in order to stop the charges . I called legalshield about this and each time spoke to a different representative that pulled up my file using my member Id number and for months reps verified to me that there system does indeed show that I canceled my services and in fact they did continue to charge me yet although they agreed I was entitled my money back they werent authorized to allow refunds another dept handlers that and they dont have a telephone only an email they do not answer I will be contacting states attorney among other agencies s on this corrupt and illegal game they wanna okay

User's recommendation: Do not use legalshield there attorneys are incompetent and drunk and they once a member your card will continue to be charged until you are forced to cancel your credit card it will not stop if you only cancel the service you have to cancel your card they are thieves and should be treated as such.

View full review
ID
#2547746 Review #2547746 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Legalshield Membership
Cons
  • All of the above liers thiefs
Loss
$80
Preferred solution
Justice

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Services not covered

After being a member for 5 years, and paying over $2000 to Legal Shield, the first time I need them I am told that my problem is not covered... it would require an additional membership at $24.95/month. I found this ridiculous, so I called to cancel my memberships. After the operator tried to talk me into staying, and I said no, cancel immediately, SHE HUNG UP ON ME! Instead of dealing with another phone call, I emailed them to cancel immediately. If they charge my CC again I will dispute the charges as I have cancelled the membership.

User's recommendation: Be aware of what is, AND WHAT IS NOT COVERED...

View full review
ID
#2512236 Review #2512236 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Legalshield Legal Service
Pros
  • No idea
Cons
  • Being given a hard time about cancelling
Loss
$875
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Delayed refund

Legalshield charged my card months after I canceled membership and upon finding this out I contacted legalshield and the rep verified that I was indeed correct and that they would issue a refund but instead they charged my card again until I was forced to cancel my credit card . I contacted them again and a different rep again verified that they were indeed charging me months after there records show I canceled she then gave me a support email and they were to issue a refund however rather than speak to someone I continue to get automated messages saying they will process my request in 24-48 hours its been nearly another month . Ive been attempting to get my money back for almost 6 months now

User's recommendation: The law firms they use are pathetic the services are poor and they will steal your money and not return once you cancel.

View full review
ID
#2499045 Review #2499045 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Legalshield Membership
Cons
  • Disappointment at minimal support
  • Inexperenced staff
  • Complication of cancelling
Loss
$80
Preferred solution
Full refund

Cancel legal shield and get a refund

Yes I want my refund backi tried to cancelle it 10 min after I did it on a friday an the last wouldnt let me an I had to wait till that next week Monday I did it an I still DDT o t have it my refund
View full review
ID
#2456752 Review #2456752 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Levittown, Pennsylvania
My Name is Chris Nelson (Account Number (101********). I recently filed a request to have a traffic ticket reduced to a non moving violation or what ever it takes to keep off of my sons record. The court date was posted as 02/01/2021. After talking to the attorney,...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#2010104

what's your phone number again there not showing all of it

ID
#2404188 Review #2404188 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lake Charles, Louisiana

DMV company needs to be replaced

DMV company never represented me in court during the Covid19 pandemic my case was dismissed. The law firm never contacted me to let me know that the case had been dismissed. I found out when I wrote a bad review. The parent company sent me back to the local DMV office. It was a total waste of time and a waste of money.

User's recommendation: Do not use this company in the DMV area. North Carolina was better.

View full review
ID
#2396479 Review #2396479 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Reston, Virginia

Lost $1875 without notification

I used Legalshield to represent me during Covid19. I paid a flat fee for the service i PG County Court. The attorney never represented me a day in court. The courts were closed when my case came up and the attorney never notified me to say that the case had been dismissed. He did however notify me when I wrote a bad review to the company. The Legalshield firm in the DMV is the worst.

User's recommendation: Do not use this company. Pay more and get a better lawyer.

View full review
ID
#2396469 Review #2396469 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Reston, Virginia

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer
Update by user Jun 13, 2021

I also wasn't able to ask legal questions. It felt like I was talking to law enforcement instead of a lawyer. I never was able to ask is it legal to continue to wiretap after you talk to law enforcement and another lawyer.I am still having issues and was followed and...

View full review
View full review
ID
#2322660 Review #2322660 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Legalshield Membership
Cons
  • Poor service in albuquerque new mexico
  • I want everyone to know this was in albuquerque new mexico
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Can Take Your Money And Not Provide Service

I signed up for service and never heard from them. I called them once and they said "there's been a complication and we need more time to process your application". Then I still did not hear from them and called again and they said "your application was denied and unfortunately we will not be refunding your membership charge." I said "then why am I not getting service?" They said "That's company option". I said "Then why am I not getting refunded?" They said "Company option". I said "I don't understand, what does that even mean?" They just repeated, "Company option." It was very strange, and certainly not right. I had to call my bank to file a dispute and seek out other legal services. Don't waste your time or money on these scammers!

User's recommendation: Avoid and seek out legal aid.

View full review
ID
#2288029 Review #2288029 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Rochester, New York
Service
Legalshield Membership
Loss
$39
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Joined Legal Shield several years ago when trusted friend highly recommended Legal Shield. On the few occasions when we needed to use service, it was if we were dealing with a law student, rather than an experienced lawyer. Those occasions brought us no useful...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2286215 Review #2286215 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hunters Creek, Florida
Pros
  • Expectation of available benefits
Cons
  • Disappointment at minimal support
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Brands Related to Legalshield

logo

IDShield

0 Reviews

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article